Ajimobi, Dankwambo, Lose Senatorial Elections


Oyo state governor, Abiola Ajimobi of the All Progressives Congress (APC) lost his election bid to represent Oyo South Senatorial district in the senate to the opposition candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

e mktkqturbxy8xztrjn2rkndiwnguzodk0mzc5nguwngzjmzcznmqwos5qcgvnkpudabhnaftnarmvas0dbwddww1514213067 1

Ajimobi, whose second term as governor will come to an end in May lost to PDP’s Dr. Kola Balogun, a former commissioner in the state under the regime of Adebayo Alao-Akala.

According to the results announced on Monday by the collation officer, Professor Wole Akinsola, Balogun got 105, 720 votes to defeat his rival of the APC, Ajimobi who got 92,218.

Ajimobi who represented the state at the National Assembly between 2007 and 2011 lost his bid to go back to red chamber after his eight-year rule as governor.

Dankwambo Loses Senatorial Election

Gombe State governor, Ibrahim Dankwambo, has lost the Gombe North Senatorial district election to the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Idu Alkali.

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lost in four of the local government areas in the senatorial district in the National Assembly elections conducted on Saturday, February 23, 2019.

Alkali scored 152,546 votes while Dankwambo finished with 88,016 votes.

Dankwambo was first elected Gombe governor in 2011, and won re-election in 2015. He contested in the primary election for the PDP’s presidential ticket in 2018, but finished in fifth position as Atiku Abubakar clinched the ticket.

What do you think?

787 Points
Upvote Downvote

Leave a Reply

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

    Dino Melaye, Stella Oduah, Win Senatorial Seats


    Buhari Departs Katsina For Abuja